Ronald M. Lynch, PhD, professor in the Department of Physiology at the UA College of Medicine, has been selected to chair a grant review committee for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) on "Noninvasive Imaging of Human Pancreatic Beta Cells."

The UA's Erika Eggers has received an Innovative Award from the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation to identify the early mechanisms of diabetic retinal damage.

Jeff touched our group in many positive ways. He will be sorely missed. more>>>

Dr. John Konhilas, Assistant Professor of Physiology at the University Of Arizona College Of Medicine has been awarded $1.9 million over 5 years by the NIH National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to study the impact of AMP-activated Kinase on sex differences in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

Tom Pannabecker (Department of Physiology, University of Arizona) and Anita Layton (Department of Mathematics, Duke University ) have received an award of $1.39 million, funded for four years jointly by the NSF and NIH for a "Collaborative Research: Comparative Study of Desert and Non-desert Rodent Kidneys" project. The project is to investigate how peristaltic contractions of the renal pelvis influence epithelial transport and dynamics in the Munich-Wistar rat and kangaroo rat kidneys.

Congratulations to Dr. Cindy Rankin for being selected as an APS Physiology Education Community of Practice (PECOP) Fellow

Only 15 undergraduate educators were selected in 2014 to be PECOP Fellows.