Physiology Students/Alums Featured in Wildcat Country; Distributed to 500,000 Readers
Release Date: Dec 5 2019

October 2019 University of Arizona Department of Physiology students and alumni were featured prominently in the 2019 edition of Wildcat Country, a special 40-page insert promoting the UArizona, Wildcat Country was distributed in the Arizona Daily Star and the Arizona Republic to more than 500,000 Arizonans.

Outstanding 2019 Physiology Graduates
Release Date: Jun 13 2019

Meet some of the Department of Physiology award-winning graduates.

Professor Betty Atwater Recognized As Best Faculty Mentor
Release Date: May 16 2019

Anne E. (Betty) Atwater, PhD, Professor Emerita, Department of Physiology, was one of seven faculty members who received the 2019 Faculty Mentoring Award.

Professor Zoe Cohen Receives UA’s Five-Star Faculty Award
Release Date: Apr 23 2019

For excellence in teaching and mentoring, Zoe Cohen, PhD, of the UA College of Medicine – Tucson Department of Physiology, has received the Margaret M. Briehl and Dennis T. Ray Five Star Faculty Award.

Collaboration to Develop Machine Learning Models for Human Drug Transporters
Release Date: Apr 18 2019

National Institute of General Medical Science (NIGMS) at the National Institutes of Health has awarded $210,712 to Collaborations Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (CPI) to initiate a project at the University of Arizona College of Medicine aimed at ultimately developing a suite of machine learning models for human uptake transporters.

In Memoriam: Douglas G. Stuart, PhD, DSc
Release Date: Apr 16 2019

A celebration of his life will be held on Monday, May 13, 2019, 4 p.m-5:30., in the Silver and Sage Room at Old Main, 1200 E. University Blvd.

Professor Zoe Cohen Receives UA’s Five-Star Faculty Award
Release Date: Apr 16 2019

Zoe Cohen, PhD, was honored for excellence in teaching and mentoring with the Margaret M. Briehl and Dennis T. Ray Five Star Faculty Award for 2019.

Professor Douglas G. Stuart (October 5, 1931 - April 6, 2019)
Release Date: Apr 8 2019

With deep sadness I have to announce that Professor Doug Stuart passed away on Saturday April 6 at the age of 87.

Dr. Meredith Hay Elected President of the American Physiological Society
Release Date: Mar 28 2019

Dr. Hay seeks to advance physiology’s brand and increase students’ awareness of physiology as a discipline.

UA Physiology Exhibit Explains Heart Health and Heart Disease at the Tucson Festival of Books Science City
Release Date: Mar 12 2019

The UA Department of Physiology and the UA Physiology Club participate in Science City again this year with an exhibit focusing on the Heart in Health and Disease.

Investigating the Mind-Body Dialogue
Release Date: Mar 5 2019

Everyone knows our brain controls our body, but how does our body influence our brain?

Reducing Rat Populations Through UA-invented Humane Fertility Control
Release Date: Mar 1 2019

While rats have been nibbling away in cities around the world, researchers at the University of Arizona were working on developing a non-reproductive rodent model for the study of menopause. In the College of Medicine – Tucson Department of Physiology, Dr. Patricia Hoyer’s research yielded a chemical formulation that provided humane, non-lethal rodent infertility.

The UA Department of Physiology Welcomes Two New Faculty Members
Release Date: Feb 14 2019

Joining the Department of Physiology are Paulo W. Pires, PhD, as assistant professor and Juliana Lessa Sacoman, PhD, as senior lecturer.

Physiology Professor Katalin Gothard to Present “Mind-Body Dialogue” Feb. 19 at College of Science’s Popular Lecture Series
Release Date: Jan 24 2019

Katalin, Gothard, MD, PhD, professor of physiology and neuroscience, is one of the featured speakers at the University of Arizona College of Science’s popular annual lecture series.

UA’s Dr. Ann Baldwin Honored with Humanitarian Heart Award
Release Date: Jan 23 2019

The professor of physiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson was recognized by the HeartMath Institute for her teaching on mind-body balance and research on stress reduction and using equine therapy to promote the healing, enrichment and well-being of others

Physiology Student Homecoming King for 2018
Release Date: Dec 5 2018

Physiology major Ahmed Al-Shamari was crowned king at the 104th Homecoming on Friday.

Physiology Senior Tucson's 40 Under 40 Winner for 2018
Release Date: Dec 5 2018

Hailey Swanson is a senior at the University of Arizona Honors College class of 2019 in the Physiology Department.

It can be good to stray from swim, bike, run
Release Date: Oct 9 2018

Experts say switching sports and increasing exercise variety can help people become more three-dimensional athletes. "People often don't realize that rowing is such a good leg exercise, along with working your core and back," said Zoe Cohen, an assistant professor in the Department of Physiology at the UA.

Communication is key, for people and for cells
Release Date: Oct 8 2018

Physiology Professor Janis Burt's research lab examines how cells communicate with each other.

How One Email From You Could Help Students Succeed
Release Date: Aug 17 2018

A professor shares some promising results from sending a personalized message to students who failed her first exam — one example of the kin...

Dr. José Ek-Vitorín Interviewed on New AZPS Podcast Produced by John Kanady
Release Date: Jul 19 2018

For the inaugural episode of the Arizona Physiological Society Podcast Facets of Life, UA physiology faculy member John Kanady chats with fellow faculty member José Ek-Vitorín, MD, PhD, a research assistant professor in the Department of Physiology at the University of Arizona.

Small Changes, Large Rewards by Zoë Cohen, PhD
Release Date: Jul 18 2018

Zoë Cohen, PhD, assistant professor, UA Department of Physiology, writes in the online higher education newspaper "The EvoLLLution" about how reaching out to struggling students can make a difference. She is also featured in the Chronicle of Higher Education, "How One Email from You Could Help Students Succeed."

Meet Two of Our Department of Physiology 2018 Graduates!
Release Date: Jul 11 2018

Maya Lowney (Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences degree with a major in physiology) and Christie Rosputni (Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences degree with a major in physiology)

Physiology Faculty Interviewed for Arizona Science Friday Radio
Release Date: May 23 2018

Dr. Shaowen Bao, Associate Professor, Dr. Andy Fuglevand, Professor and Dr. Nick Delamere, Professor and Head from the Department of Physiology were all recently interviewed for Arizona Public Media'...

UA Health Sciences Colleges Convocations 2018: Meet Some of the Graduates
Release Date: May 7 2018

The accomplishments of some of the UA Health Sciences’ inspiring graduates are highlighted.