FDA Authorizes Use of UArizona COVID-19 Antibody Test; Testing Expanded to All Arizonans Age 18 and Older
Release Date: Sep 2 2020

The antibody test determines who has been exposed to and developed an immune response against COVID-19.

UArizona and Covid Watch Launch COVID-19 Exposure Notification App
Release Date: Aug 20 2020

UArizona and Covid Watch Launch COVID-19 Exposure Notification App

People and Programs ‘On The Move’ at UArizona College of Medicine – Tucson
Release Date: Jul 24 2020

Recent notices include appointments for curricular affairs, licensing, sleep medicine, research and student mental health, plus national awards for mentorship, diversity and pancreatic cancer studies.

UArizona, State Expand COVID-19 Antibody Test Eligibility, Launch $7.7M Study on Immunity
Release Date: Jul 22 2020

A free statewide COVID-19 antibody testing program expands to 15 categories of essential workers at high risk of exposure, in concert with a $7.7 million UArizona study to better understand immunity.

Pandemic Provides Unique Learning Experience for Journalism Students
Release Date: Jun 24 2020

The pandemic presented a once-in-a-career opportunity for UArizona student journalists, including Amit Syal, physiology major and the Wildcat's assistant news editor and health and science reporter.

UArizona Names Surgeon General Carmona to Lead Campus Reentry Plan
Release Date: May 27 2020

University of Arizona president, Dr. Robert Robbins announced in April his plans to resume in-person classes Aug. 24, bringing back 45,000 students and 15,000 faculty and staff for fall 2020.

UArizona Researchers Investigate How COVID-19 Impacts the Brain
Release Date: May 15 2020

COVID-19’s impact on the respiratory system is well-documented, but what does it do to the brain? University of Arizona researchers hope to answer that question by studying people who had the disease.

Physiology Undergraduates receive UArizona Freeman Award
Release Date: May 14 2020

Congratulations to Physiology Seniors, Marcos Gomez Ambriz and Ahmad B. Shahin, on being selected 2020 Freeman Award Winners.

Dr. Rankin and Dr. Stanescu Receive Prestigious UArizona Teaching Awards
Release Date: May 14 2020

Associate Professor Lucinda (Cindy) Rankin, PhD, received the 2020 Maria Teresa Velez Outstanding Faculty Mentoring Award. Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Director Claudia Stanescu, PhD, was awarded the College of Medicine – Tucson Dean's list for Excellence in Teaching Award.

PSIO Instructor Davina Dobbins Selected for Leadership Award
Release Date: May 13 2020

Davina Dobbins, a member of the UArizona Department of Physiology teaching staff, receives the Outstanding Graduate/Professional Student Leadership Award.

Physiology Professor Among UArizona Researchers Pivoting to Tackle COVID-19
Release Date: Apr 29 2020

Scott Boitano, PhD, professor of physiology, is among 13 teams of UArizona researchers to jump-start projects to fight COVID-19, thanks to seed funding through the BIO5 institute.

Dr. Ann Baldwin Publishes Book on Reiki in Clinical Practice
Release Date: Apr 22 2020

Ann Linda Baldwin, PhD, professor of physiology at the University of Arizona, has published the book, "Reiki in Clinical Practice: A Science-based Guide," in which she hopes to bridge the gap between energy healing and quantitative scientific inquiry.

UArizona College of Medicine – Tucson Students Given Option for Early Graduation in Response to COVID-19 Pandemic
Release Date: Mar 30 2020

In coordination with the University of Arizona and College of Medicine – Phoenix, the College of Medicine — Tucson is offering early graduation to the Class of 2020. This option is for qualified students who wish to serve as new physicians to meet the unprecedented health needs that have emerged from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Photo Gallery: American Physiological Society Executive Director Seminar
Release Date: Mar 11 2020

In addition to his Physiology Seminar presentation, APS Executive Director Scott Steen met with undergraduate and graduate students to discuss physiology education and careers.

American Physiological Society Executive Director to Speak on the Future of Physiology Feb. 28
Release Date: Feb 20 2020

Scott Steen, CAE, FASAE, executive director of the American Physiological Society, will speak at the Physiology Seminar Friday, Feb. 28, 11:00- a.m.-noon, at the Arizona Health Sciences Center Room 5403. His presentation will be “Building the Future of Physiology.”

Seven Physiology Grads Among Recipients of Primary Care Physician Scholarship Program
Release Date: Feb 11 2020

The University of Arizona Primary Care Physician Scholarship Program recognized its first 29 recipients at a January 31 reception. Medical students received free tuition in exchange for practicing in a rural or urban underserved community in Arizona for up to four years, depending on how many years they receive the scholarship. Seven of the 29 students are graduates of the UArizona Department of Physiology.

Physiology Students/Alums Featured in Wildcat Country; Distributed to 500,000 Readers
Release Date: Dec 5 2019

October 2019 University of Arizona Department of Physiology students and alumni were featured prominently in the 2019 edition of Wildcat Country, a special 40-page insert promoting the UArizona, Wildcat Country was distributed in the Arizona Daily Star and the Arizona Republic to more than 500,000 Arizonans.

New Name for Physiology Bachelor’s Degree at UA College of Medicine – Tucson
Release Date: Jul 8 2019

Changing the major’s name to Physiology and Medical Sciences and revising graduation requirements will give students an appreciation for the diversity of disciplines and careers supported by a foundation in physiology.

Outstanding 2019 Physiology Graduates
Release Date: Jun 13 2019

Meet some of the Department of Physiology award-winning graduates.

Professor Betty Atwater Recognized As Best Faculty Mentor
Release Date: May 16 2019

Anne E. (Betty) Atwater, PhD, Professor Emerita, Department of Physiology, was one of seven faculty members who received the 2019 Faculty Mentoring Award.

Professor Zoe Cohen Receives UA’s Five-Star Faculty Award
Release Date: Apr 23 2019

For excellence in teaching and mentoring, Zoe Cohen, PhD, of the UA College of Medicine – Tucson Department of Physiology, has received the Margaret M. Briehl and Dennis T. Ray Five Star Faculty Award.

Collaboration to Develop Machine Learning Models for Human Drug Transporters
Release Date: Apr 18 2019

National Institute of General Medical Science (NIGMS) at the National Institutes of Health has awarded $210,712 to Collaborations Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (CPI) to initiate a project at the University of Arizona College of Medicine aimed at ultimately developing a suite of machine learning models for human uptake transporters.

In Memoriam: Douglas G. Stuart, PhD, DSc
Release Date: Apr 16 2019

A celebration of his life will be held on Monday, May 13, 2019, 4 p.m-5:30., in the Silver and Sage Room at Old Main, 1200 E. University Blvd.

Professor Zoe Cohen Receives UA’s Five-Star Faculty Award
Release Date: Apr 16 2019

Zoe Cohen, PhD, was honored for excellence in teaching and mentoring with the Margaret M. Briehl and Dennis T. Ray Five Star Faculty Award for 2019.

Professor Douglas G. Stuart (October 5, 1931 - April 6, 2019)
Release Date: Apr 8 2019

With deep sadness I have to announce that Professor Doug Stuart passed away on Saturday April 6 at the age of 87.