Small Changes, Large Rewards by Zoë Cohen, PhD
Release Date: Jul 18 2018

Zoë Cohen, PhD, assistant professor, UA Department of Physiology, writes in the online higher education newspaper "The EvoLLLution" about how reaching out to struggling students can make a difference. She is also featured in the Chronicle of Higher Education, "How One Email from You Could Help Students Succeed."

Meet Two of Our Department of Physiology 2018 Graduates!
Release Date: Jul 11 2018

Maya Lowney (Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences degree with a major in physiology) and Christie Rosputni (Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences degree with a major in physiology)

Physiology Faculty Interviewed for Arizona Science Friday Radio
Release Date: May 23 2018

Dr. Shaowen Bao, Associate Professor, Dr. Andy Fuglevand, Professor and Dr. Nick Delamere, Professor and Head from the Department of Physiology were all recently interviewed for Arizona Public Media'...

UA Health Sciences Colleges Convocations 2018: Meet Some of the Graduates
Release Date: May 7 2018

The accomplishments of some of the UA Health Sciences’ inspiring graduates are highlighted.

UA Health Sciences Colleges 2018 Convocations Details
Release Date: May 3 2018

More details about the ceremonies.

2 PSIO Undergrads Selected for 2018 Pillars of Excellence Award
Release Date: Apr 3 2018

Every year, the Honors College partners with the UA Bookstore to recognize outstanding undergraduates. This year 2 of the 10 honors students seleced for the award were Physiolgoy majors.

‘Let’s Talk About the Brain,’ Free Public Lecture, March 13
Release Date: Feb 27 2018

Explore the “universe” of the brain at an evening of TED Talk-style lectures featuring three University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson researchers discussing their work involving pain, autism and emotions. The lecture is in observance of Brain Awareness Week, March 12-18.

UA Startup ProNeurogen Advances New Therapies for Vascular Dementia, Announces Award of Patents for Intellectual Property
Release Date: Oct 26 2017

The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office has awarded two patents to the UA based on the team’s novel approach to treating diseases causing memory loss and cognitive impairment.

Dr. Charles Tipton recognized by The American College of Sports Medicine
Release Date: Sep 13 2017

Charles Tipton, Emeritus Professor of Physiology, was recently recognized by The American College of Sports Medicine, with a symposium entitled ” Exercise is Medicine: Current insights from C. M....

Connect and Grow Through Faculty Learning Communities
Release Date: Aug 15 2017

When students want to do better in their classes, they very often form study groups. But where do faculty go when they want to become more effective teachers? One place is the UA Learning Initiative Faculty Learning Communities.

Unique Engagement Grant awarded to Dr. Zoe Cohen
Release Date: Jun 8 2017

An engagement grant that brings together the UA Physiology Club and the Stroke Resource Center of Southern Arizona has been funded for the 2017-2018 school year.The purpose of this project is to...

UA Health Sciences Convocations 2017: Meet Some of the Graduates
Release Date: May 9 2017

UA Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Public Health

Congratulations to Dr. Heddwen Brooks
Release Date: Apr 12 2017

Dr Heddwen Brooks,  Physiological Sciences GIDP Chair, Professor, Departments of Physiology and Pharmacology has been awarded $1.53 million from the National Institute of Heart, Lung and Blood...

AZ COE Faculty Stipend Award -Dr. Jose EkViorin
Release Date: Nov 3 2016

The Department of Physiology is pleased to annouce that Dr. Jose Ek Vitorin, Research Assistant Professor was selected as the recipient of  the AZ COE Faculty Stipend Award to research further...

Dr. Doug Stuart to present seminar in Australia
Release Date: Oct 6 2016

Dr. Doug Stuart, Regents Professor, Emeritus will present a seminar on October 06 at the University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia entitled "William C. Gibson (1913-2009):  A Canadian trained by...

Dr. Doug Stuart to speak at NAU International Symposium
Release Date: Apr 22 2016

On Friday April 22, Regents’ Professor Emeritus of Physiology, Dr. Douglas Stuart, will give the opening talk at an international symposium to be held at NAU entitled Insights from Comparative...

Dr. Cindy Rankin finalist for Tucson Local Media's Women of Influence Awards
Release Date: Apr 18 2016

Special congratulations to Dr. Cindy Rankin, Lecturer and Associate Director of the Physiology Undergraduate Program, for being selected as one of 3 finalists for the Tucson Woman of Influence award...

Radio interviews with Physiology Undergraduate students
Release Date: Jan 7 2016

The Physiology Department is proud to announce that two of our undergraduate students had the opportunuity to talk about their research on KXCI, a local radio station in Tucson, AZ. ...

PSIO faculty named fellows of the American Physiological Society
Release Date: Sep 30 2015

William H. Dantzler, Ronald M. Lynch and Charles M. Tipton were among 151 individuals recently named to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Physiological Society. This honor is designed to...

Banner University Medical Centers in Phoenix and Tucson named to U.S. News ‘Best Hospital’ ranking
Release Date: Jul 21 2015

Banner-University Medical Center Phoenix and Banner-University Medical Center Tucson have each been named to U.S. News & World Report’s Best Hospital ranking, and nationally recognized for...

Congratulations to Linda Baughn
Release Date: May 7 2015

 Linda Baughn, Office Specialist, Sr. in the Department of Physiology was awarded the  College of Medicine's 2015 Lura Hanekamp Award of Excellence.The “Lura Hanekamp” Award of Excellence...

Registration for Summer Session- March 23, 2015
Release Date: Feb 23 2015

Registration for Physiology summer session courses begins on March 23, 2015.Click here for a list of the PSIO summer courses offered.

Former Graduate Adiv Johnson represented NAEVR and ARVO at the Rally for Medical Research Advocacy Day 2014
Release Date: Nov 13 2014

NAEVR representative Adiv Johnson, PhD. with National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director Francis Collins, M.D., PhD. at a pre-Advocacy Day reception. Click here for full article

Former Graduate Adiv Johnson
Release Date: Nov 12 2014

      NAEVR and ARVO Represented by Young Investigators at the Rally for Medical Research Advocacy Day 2014   On September 18, as Congress was acting on a Continuing Resolution...

Physiology Honors Convocation
Release Date: Oct 10 2014

Physiology Honors Convocation Date: October 10, 2014 Time: 3:00pm Location: Stevie Eller Dance Theatre