Release Date: Sep 11 2008 - 3:56pm

Dr Zoe Cohen has been selected for the Philip and Bobbie Hanft Young Investigator Award from the Sarver Heart Center.

The title of Zoe's project is "Enhancement of platelet activation and aggregation by erythrocytes: role of red cells in thrombosis"

Release Date: Jul 3 2008 - 11:56am

Heddwen Brooks, Associate Professor of Physiology, has received the Young Investigator Award, Renal Section, of the American Physiological Society.

Release Date: Jun 3 2008 - 4:21pm

Professor Nick Delamere, Head of the Department of Physiology, was elected president of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). Founded in 1928, ARVO is the largest and most highly respected vision research organization in the world. The society serves an international membership of close to 12,500 clinical and basic vision researchers in 73 countries. Among its many activities, the society organizes conferences in the U.S.A. and Asia, publishes scientific journals and provides education and professional development opportunities for clinical and basic scientists.

Release Date: Mar 3 2008 - 9:47am

Sarah Nelson, a junior Biochemistry major in the Physiology lab of Dr. Heddwen Brooks, has been selected as a finalist for an American Physiological Society's 2008 David S. Bruce Undergraduate Research Award.

Release Date: Mar 1 2008 - 11:00am

Chris Ferguson, a graduate teaching assistant in the Department of Physiology, has been awarded the 2008 Yuma Friendsof AHSC Young Investigator Award. Chris is doing research in the Orthopaedic Research Laboratory in the College of Medicine. The College of Public Health website has more information about the award.

Release Date: Feb 15 2008 - 1:00pm

On May 1, 2008, Dr. Erik J. Henriksen, Professor of Physiology and of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at the University of Arizona, will be awarded the E.K. Frey – E. Werle Commemorative Gold Medal for outstanding research contributions on the role of the kallikrein-kinin system and related subjects in health and disease, such that these research achievements have significantly influenced the development of the field.

Release Date: Jan 15 2008 - 4:03pm

Dr. Tim Secomb has been elected chair of the Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs Advisory Council (GIDPAC). Congratulations!

Release Date: Jan 12 2008 - 4:06pm

Dr. Ann Baldwin has been featured in UANow. View the article here.

Release Date: Dec 7 2007 - 2:49pm

Dr. Hedwenn Brooks, Assistant Professor of Physiology, was recently featured in the College of Medicine's Focus on Faculty. A PDF summary is also available.

Release Date: Nov 30 2007 - 9:09am

The Fall 2007 Physiology Undergraduate Program newsletter is now online. A list of all newsletters is also available.

Release Date: Oct 17 2007 - 2:03pm

William H. Dantzler, M.D., Ph.D. (Professor Emeritus and former Department Head of Physiology) will be awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Chairs of Departments of Physiology at the December 2007 annual meeting.

Release Date: Sep 19 2007 - 10:51am

The following table from a Provost's Bulletin released on September 10, 2007 shows that Pre-Physiology was the 2nd most popular major selected by new freshmen entering the University of Arizona for the Fall 2007 semester.

Release Date: Aug 30 2007 - 11:28am

Dr. Andrew Fuglevand has been invited and has agreed to serve as a member of the NIH Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation Sciences Study Section, Center for Scientific Review for the term beginning immediately and ending June 30, 2011.

Members are selected on the basis of their demonstrated competence and achievement in their scientific discipline as evidenced by the quality of research accomplishments, publications in scientific journals, and other significant scientific activities, achievements and honors.

Release Date: May 14 2007 - 12:35pm

From the 3D Memo:

Release Date: May 10 2007 - 4:21pm

On Monday, May 7, 2007, Chris Coronado, Program Coordinator Sr. for the Physiology Undergraduate Program, was awarded the College of Medicine Staff Award for Excellence.

Release Date: Apr 20 2007 - 4:34pm

David Kurjiaka, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology, has been awarded a University of Arizona Faculty Small Grants Program grant in the amount of $9,634.00 for his proposal entitled Hypertension: Role of Gap Junction Communication in the Resistance Vasculature.

Release Date: Apr 20 2007 - 4:32pm

Becky Farley, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology, has been awarded a University of Arizona Faculty Small Grants Program grant in the amount of $9,740.00 for her proposal entitled Dual Task Assessment to Detect Motor Impairment in Early Parkinson's Disease.

Release Date: Apr 11 2007 - 11:13am

Mortar Board is a national honor society recognizing college seniors for their exemplary scholarship, leadership, and service. Each year, members of this honorary recognize faculty members at the University who have made an impact on their undergraduate careers. This year, Mortar Board honored Dr. Heddwen Brooks, Dr. Andrew Fuglevand, and Dr. Doug Keen for their dedication to the students of The University of Arizona.

Release Date: Feb 21 2007 - 6:57pm

Lucinda Rankin has been selected as one of two winners of the 2007 University of Arizona Graduate College Graduate and Professional Education Teaching and Mentoring Awards. The winners were selected by a committee of Graduate Council faculty members.

As an award winner, she will be honored during the Awards of Distinction Reception and Ceremony in the Student Union on Tuesday evening, April 17, 2007. She will be receiving a cash prize, a medallion and a handsome plaque.

Release Date: Jan 17 2007 - 2:33pm

Congratulations to Heddwen L. Brooks, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in Physiology and BIO5, recipient of the 2007 American Physiological Society's Lazaro J. Mandel Young Investigator Award.

The award recognizes an individual demonstrating outstanding promise in the field of epithelial or renal physiology.

Dr. Brooks' research focuses on the molecular regulation of the kidney, with a focus on diseases such as diabetes.

Release Date: Dec 15 2006 - 4:36pm

Read more details here.

Release Date: Aug 4 2006 - 11:40pm

Nicholas A. Delamere, PhD, renowned for research on the physiology of the eye, has been appointed head of the Department of Physiology at The University of Arizona College of Medicine in Tucson.

Dr. Delamere replaces William H. Dantzler, MD, PhD, a founding member of the UA College of Medicine faculty, who recently stepped down after 14 years as department head.

Release Date: Apr 27 2006 - 8:34am

At the April 18, 2006 “Awards of Distinction” Ceremony, Provost George Davis presented an engraved glass tablet to the Department of Physiology – winners of the 2006 Provost’s Award for Meritorious Departmental Achievement in Undergraduate Instruction. Each year this award acknowledges and rewards one department or program that has made unique and significant contributions to the teaching efforts of the University and to the education of students.

Release Date: Mar 30 2006 - 4:34pm

Congratulations to Heddwen L. Brooks, Ph.D., Assistant Professor in Physiology and BIO5, who has been named the American Physiological Society's New Investigator, Renal Section for 2006.

The APS Sectional New Investigator awards recognize outstanding investigators in the early stages of their career.

Dr. Brooks' research focuses on the molecular regulation of the kidney, with a focus on diseases such as diabetes.

Release Date: Jan 5 2006 - 2:00pm

The Department of Physiology launched a new website on January 5, 2006.

This website features a new UA theme, NetID-based logins for faculty, staff and students and, most importantly, on-demand updating for faculty and staff. Suggestions, questions or complaints can be directed to the webmaster