Senior Awards Announced
Release Date: May 7 2010

The Department of Physiology wishes to congratulate the following undergraduate Physiology Students for receiving University of Arizona Senior Awards. Karla Acosta received the Centennial Achievement...

Dr. Cindy Rankin and Dr. Erik Henriksen Recognized by the Honors College
Release Date: Apr 30 2010

On April 28, 2010, Dr. Cindy Rankin, lecturer and Director of the Physiology Honors Academy, and Dr. Erik Henriksen, professor and Director of the Physiology Undergraduate Program, were recognized by...

Physiological Sciences students and faculty present their work at Experimental Biology 2010
Release Date: Apr 27 2010

Experimental Biology is an annual meeting comprising of nearly 13,000 scientists and exhibitors representing six sponsoring societies and 18 guest societies.   General fields of study...

Professor Jeffery Walker passed away suddenly and unexpectedly in January 2010.
Release Date: Feb 25 2010

Jeff touched our group in many positive ways. He will be sorely missed. more>>>

Parkinson's News from APDA / UA Center
Release Date: Dec 10 2009

  Nearly 25 people with Parkinson's and their families joined Sharon Kha, AZ-APDA Chapter President, at Access Tucson to produce a televised version of her "Parkinson's Rap." The "rap" was part...

Dr. Delamere visits Capitol Hill
Release Date: Dec 3 2009

In November Professor Nick Delamere visited the Capitol Hill offices of Arizona Senators McCain and Kyl as well as the offices of Representatives Giffords and Grijalva. As...

Dr. Stephen Wright Selected for UA College of Medicine Faculty Science Forum Founders Day Award
Release Date: Nov 4 2009

Stephen H. Wright, PhD, professor in the Department of Physiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, is the recipient of this year's Faculty Science Forum Founders Day Award. Dr....

Dr. Charles Tipton “EEP Legend” Featured in APS Living History Program
Release Date: Oct 6 2009

Dr. Charles Tipton is featured in the APS Living History of Physiology Project. The APS has initiated the Living History of Physiology Project. Dr. Tipton is interviewed by Dr. Edward Zambraski who...

New grants from the Sarver Heart Center!
Release Date: Oct 5 2009

CONGRATULATIONS to researchers who were awarded grants from the Sarver Heart Center! Heddwen Brooks, PhD and John Konhilas, PhD The John T and Janet K Billington Research Award for Heart Disease in...

Ron Lynch Ph.D., New Chair and Director PS GIDP
Release Date: Nov 26 2008

Ron Lynch Ph.D. Physiology, was appointed, in the past year, as Chair of the Program Committee for the American Physiological Society, and as Director of the Advanced Research Institute for...

Dr Zoe Cohen to help MedEdPORTAL
Release Date: Nov 26 2008

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and MedEdPORTAL have invited Dr Zoe Cohen to help review and select physiology animations and images for the MedEdPORTAL. MedEdPORTAL is a free...

Jan Burt Ph.D., Physiology Receives Teaching Award
Release Date: Nov 13 2008

Janis M. Burt, PhD was awarded the Vernon and Virginia Furrow Award for "Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching and Mentoring". She will receive the award at the annual Faculty Teaching Awards...

Abraham Deng Ater, Physiology Major, Works to Build Schools in Sudan
Release Date: Nov 4 2008

Abraham Deng Ater, who received his B.S. in Health Sciences degree with a major in Physiology, recently has been in the news for his work to build schools in the Sudan. Upon his graduation in May of...

UA Transformation Plan (Faculty and Staff only)
Release Date: Sep 24 2008

Please review our proposed transformation plan. This is for Physiology Faculty and Staff only (WebAuth login required).

Henriksen to Serve on APS Physiology Pipeline Task Force
Release Date: Sep 11 2008

Erik Henriksen, Professor of Physiology and Director of the Physiology Undergraduate Program, has been asked to serve on a new committee of the American Physiological Society (APS). The APS...

Cohen receives Young Investigator Award
Release Date: Sep 11 2008

Dr Zoe Cohen has been selected for the Philip and Bobbie Hanft Young Investigator Award from the Sarver Heart Center. The title of Zoe's project is "Enhancement of platelet activation and aggregation...

Brooks receives APS Young Investigator Award
Release Date: Jul 3 2008

Heddwen Brooks, Associate Professor of Physiology, has received the Young Investigator Award, Renal Section, of the American Physiological Society. This award recognizes an outstanding young...

Delamere elected president of vision research organization
Release Date: Jun 3 2008

Professor Nick Delamere, Head of the Department of Physiology, was elected president of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). Founded in 1928, ARVO is the largest and most...

Nelson in Brooks lab finalist for research award
Release Date: Mar 3 2008

Sarah Nelson, a junior Biochemistry major in the Physiology lab of Dr. Heddwen Brooks, has been selected as a finalist for an American Physiological Society's 2008 David S. Bruce Undergraduate...

GTA Ferguson awarded scholarship
Release Date: Mar 1 2008

Chris Ferguson, a graduate teaching assistant in the Department of Physiology, has been awarded the 2008 Yuma Friendsof AHSC Young Investigator Award. Chris is doing research in the Orthopaedic...

Henriksen to be awarded gold medal by German foundation
Release Date: Feb 15 2008

On May 1, 2008, Dr. Erik J. Henriksen, Professor of Physiology and of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at the University of Arizona, will be awarded the E.K. Frey – E. Werle Commemorative...

Secomb elected GIDPAC chair
Release Date: Jan 15 2008

Dr. Tim Secomb has been elected chair of the Graduate Interdisciplinary Programs Advisory Council (GIDPAC). Congratulations!

Baldwin featured in UANow
Release Date: Jan 12 2008

Dr. Ann Baldwin has been featured in UANow. View the article here.

Brooks featured in Focus on Faculty
Release Date: Dec 7 2007

Dr. Hedwenn Brooks, Assistant Professor of Physiology, was recently featured in the College of Medicine's Focus on Faculty. A PDF summary is also available.

Fall 2007 Physiology Undergraduate Program newsletter online
Release Date: Nov 30 2007

The Fall 2007 Physiology Undergraduate Program newsletter is now online. A list of all newsletters is also available.