Professor Betty Atwater Recognized As Best Faculty Mentor

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Anne E. (Betty) Atwater, PhD, Professor Emerita, Department of Physiology, was one of seven faculty members who received the 2019 Faculty Mentoring Award. In the spirit of recognizing the importance of mentorship for the success of faculty, each year, the College of Medicine – Tucson honors those who dedicate their time as mentors. The awards are overseen and presented by the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs (DCFA).

“Mentorship is so crucial to the growth and success of faculty. Navigating the world of academic medicine is difficult – having someone to guide you, introduce you to people and opportunities, coach you through challenges … that is priceless,” said Alice Min, MD, assistant dean of Faculty Development. “The Faculty Mentoring Awards recognize these outstanding faculty who are dedicated and invested in the success of their colleagues.”

"Betty has been such great source of information, ideas, enthusiasm and support for so many of us in the department. It's fantastic that she'll be acknowledged for her years of impact on many," said Cindy Rankin, PhD, Department of Physiology. 

More information and the list of this year’s winners here.